Faculty Governance

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the representative body of the University of Arkansas faculty and holds authority as given in the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees Policy 810.1

The Faculty Senate exercises the general legislative powers of the faculty and has sole jurisdiction over admission requirements; transfer of credits; withdrawls; academic honesty; scholastic probation, suspension and dismissal; curriculum and courses; degrees and degree requirements; awarding of academic honors; and recommendations to the board of trustees for honorary degrees.

The faculty may also make recommendations on any institutional matter of faculty concern such as: policies regarding faculty status, including appointments, promotions, granting of tenure, retirement, nonreappointment, and dismissal; policies affecting the general welfare, working conditions, and the services performed by and for the faculty; and policies relating to academic and professional research and other scholarly and creative activities.

The Faculty Senate is comprised of six executive officers, including a chair, vice chair, secretary, parliamentarian, a chair-elect and a vice chair-elect, as well as 45 voting senators, 32 of whom represent the colleges and schools, and 13 of whom are elected at large. Senators serve two-year terms. More than a dozen non-voting members also sit on the Faculty Senate by virtue of the administrative positions they hold on campus.

Campus Faculty

Campus Faculty is an organization comprising all professors who have at least half-time faculty appointments and are either tenured, on a tenure track, or are instructors or lecturers in their third (or greater) consecutive year of appointment at the University of Arkansas. Campus Faculty meets regularly once each semester. Officers include a chair, vice chair, secretary and parliamentarian. The chair and vice chair of Campus Faculty are the chair-elect and vice chair-elect, respectively of Faculty Senate.