Academic Advising Council

Appointed by the Provost

The Academic Advising Council (AAC) serves as the advisory group for undergraduate academic advising and reports to the provost regarding all matters related to its charge. The council advises the provost and the deans regarding student advising. Each school and college has two representatives on the council, each selected by the dean to represent the college: one faculty adviser, who serves for a three-year term, and one staff adviser, who serves at the pleasure of the dean. The Honors College will be represented by one staff adviser. The Honors College faculty voice will be heard through the other college faculty representatives. To assist with clear communication, the council includes the following offices as ex officio members: The directors of the First Year Experience, the Office of Academic Success, the Office of Career Services, the Office of the Registrar, and the Academic Support Office of the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics. The council elects a vice chair each spring to begin service July 1 and serve as chair the following year. In addition to other reports as desired, the council will issue an annual report in which activities are reported and evaluated and in which issues are identified and actions recommended. The AAC will develop a recommended allocation of funding for adviser training and development programs and an annual university advising award and submit it to the provost with the annual report each year for implementation the following year.

The AAC is charged with assisting the institution to increase the academic success and retention of undergraduate students by highlighting and providing additional support to the academic advising processes. It will recommend to the provost goals, procedures and standards for advising, including strategies for the evaluation of advising quality and outcomes.

To these ends, it will review undergraduate advising across campus with the cooperation of the schools and colleges and identify issues and problems as well as strategies for addressing them. As issues, problems and possible solutions are identified in the institution or colleges and schools, the council will provide information and recommend action.

The AAC will recommend university-supported adviser development programs to provide training to both professional and faculty advisers and mentors. This training will supplement training in the schools and colleges by focusing on universitywide services for students such as those involving admissions, enrollment services, financial aid, tutoring, academic support, personal counseling, career planning and disability services. The committee will design and implement adviser development programs and maintain liaison with services for students across the campus.

Faculty will serve a three year term.  Each new term begins July 1. Officers will begin their term July 1.  (See by-laws in Academic Policy 1550.20.)

Jody Davis Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences Staff  2018
Jill Rucker Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences Faculty 2019
Sheri Lynn Tuck Fay Jones School of Architecture Staff 2018
Chuck Rotolo Fay Jones School of Architecture Faculty 2019
Neil Allison J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences Faculty 2018
Shane Barker
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences Staff 2018
Larry Aslin College of Education and Health Professions Staff 2018
Denise Bignar College of Education and Health Professions Faculty 2019
Adrienne Gaines College of Engineering Staff 2019
Heath Schluterman College of Engineering Faculty 2018
Jeff Hood Sam M. Walton College of Business Staff 2019
Susan Bristow Sam M. Walton College of Business Faculty 2018
Jason Blankenship Honors College 2019
Karen Hodges Office of Academic Success  
Charles Small  Academic Support of Athletics representative  
Angela Seawood Williams Director
Career Services
Dave Dawson  Registrar   
Trevor Francis  Office of Graduation and Retention   
Updated 7/19/17