Computing Activities Council

Appointed by the Chancellor

The Computer Activities Council (CAC) and its committees represent the IT governance structure at the University of Arkansas. Its primary purpose is long-range planning and setting of priorities for IT by reviewing, recommending and monitoring IT strategies, policies, processes, budgeting, and services on the campus in order for the University of Arkansas to achieve its educational and research missions and goals. It facilitates participation of students, faculty, staff, and administrators in IT strategic planning, and provides input to the IT budgeting and other decision making process on IT issues with impact on teaching, research, learning, and administration on the campus. It promotes effective acquisition, utilization, and sharing of IT resources and infrastructure for establishing excellent IT infrastructure and providing excellent IT services on campus.


  • Align IT with the strategic mission, direction, and initiatives of the University of Arkansas.
  • Review and recommend IT strategic planning process.
  • Review and recommend IT strategies and policies.
  • Review and recommend IT budget.
  • Review IT compliance and standards and recommend IT procedures.
  • Review and define service level expectations.
  • Promote effective acquisition, utilization and sharing of IT resources.
  • Review and recommend the technical standards and university-wide IT infrastructure and services.
  • Represent students, faculty, and staff to provide feedback to IT for service excellence.


Membership consists of Chief Information Officer (CIO); one faculty representative nominated by the dean from each of the following: the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences, J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, Sam M. Walton College of Business, the College of Education and Health Professions, the College of Engineering, the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design, the School of Law, and University of Arkansas Libraries; one faculty member chosen at large; two additional representatives of IT directors or other IT professionals from colleges, one representative from High Performance Center, one representative each from the Graduate School and International Education, the School of Continuing Education and Academic Outreach, Honors college, the Office of the Registrar, the Division of Finance and Administration, and the Division of Student Affairs; two undergraduate students; two graduate students; and, ex officio, the associate vice chancellor for business affairs, the provost or designee.

The Chancellor will designate a chairperson from the members other than the CIO. The CIO will serve as a co-chair of this council.

(Members appointed by the Chancellor)


  • IT Governance Committee
  • Teaching and Learning IT committee
  • Research IT committee
  • Administrative IT committee
  • IT infrastructure and Security Committee

CAC sets up or changes topical committees as needed.

Miaoqing Huang

College of Engineering
Derrick Mears Faculty
College of Education and Health Professions
Mandel Samuels
Faculty at Large 2020
Casandra Cox  Faculty
Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences
Scott Biehle Faculty
Fay Jones School of Architecture
Paul Cronan Faculty
Sam M. Walton College of Business
Jason Tullis  Faculty
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences
Jeff Pummill Director of Strategic Initiatives & User Services, AHPCC 2019
Norman Dennis Senior Associate Dean and University Professor 2019
Teresa Waddell Director of Technology
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences
Randy Thompson  Faculty
School of Law
Lora Lennertz Faculty
Mullins Library
Mark Larmoyeux Graduate School and International Education representative 2020
Shelly Walters Global Campus representative 2021
Polly Parnell Division of Finance and Administration representative 2021
Nick Daehn Office of the Registrar representative 2021
Brian Bopp Division of Student Affairs representative 2018
Sabine Tuyizere Undergraduate Student 2019
Amelia Ver Woert Undergraduate Student 2019
Vacant Graduate Student 2018
Joseph Sirrianni Graduate Student 2019
Chris McCoy
Associate Vice Chancellor for IT Services**  
Carla Martin Provost or designee*  
Tina Lester Business Manager or designee*  

*=ex officio
**=ex officio non-voting

Updated 11/30/2018