Health and Occupational Safety Committee

Appointed by the Provost

The Health and Occupational Safety Committee encourages and supports a proactive approach to health and occupational safety by developing and recommending policies and procedures relating to students, faculty and staff of the university community as well as visitors to the campus. The committee considers campus accident reports, lost time accidents, traffic accident patterns and fires, and investigates serious accidents as dictated by the Arkansas Department of Labor.

The committee is comprised of four faculty members, one faculty at large, one each from the College of Engineering, the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, and the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences; seven staff representatives, one representative each from the Pat Walker Health Center, Facilities Management, University of Arkansas Police Department, Division of Agriculture, University Housing, Risk Management, Department of Intercollegiate Athletics, and Staff Senate; two student representatives, appointed each year by the Associated Student Government president; ex officio non-voting members who may designate representatives, the associate vice chancellor for Human Resources, the occupational safety coordinator for campus safety, campus fire marshal, the manager of the Office of Environmental Health and Safety, and the agricultural safety officer. 

The chair, to be selected from the faculty representatives, is elected by the committee members. The occupational safety coordinator for campus safety acts as secretary of the committee, works with the chair to schedule meetings and arranges for the recording and distribution of minutes.

Kaitlin Gallagher   Faculty at Large 2023
Tom Spicer Faculty
College of Engineering
Matt McIntosh
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences
Leandro Mozzoni Faculty
Division of Agriculture/Dale Bumpers College of Agriculture, Food and Life Sciences
Sue Howerton Staff
Pat Walker Health Center
Kelley Sharp Staff
Facilities Management
Jessica Post Staff
University of Arkansas Police Department
John Swenson Staff
Division of Agriculture
Judy Kendrick Staff
University Housing
Brooke Moore Staff
Risk Management
Jeff Mellon Staff
Department of Intercollegiate Athletics
Roy Cordell Staff
Staff Senate
Alric Fernandes Student representative 2022
Vacant Student representative 2021
Debbie McLoud Associate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources **  
Richard Ashworth Manager
Environmental Health and Safety**
Wayne Brashear Campus Fire Marshal**  
Danielle Best Occupational Safety Coordinator for Campus Safety**  
Kyle Wayne McKaughan  Agricultural Safety Officer **  

*=ex officio
**=ex officio non-voting