Sustainability Council

Appointed by the Provost

The purpose of the University of Arkansas Sustainability Council is to make recommendations to the chancellor and provost and advise the Office for Sustainability (OfS) in implementing its programs and responsibilities. The Sustainability Council supports the OfS stewardship mission through development and coordination of ideas, information and resources among the university’s student body, academic departments and administrative units to expand the integration of sustainability into operational practices throughout the University of Arkansas and the community. The Sustainability Council is comprised of faculty, staff, students and representatives from the Fayetteville, Arkansas community. All academic and university community representatives are voting members and appointed by their respective unit leaders; extended community representatives are non-voting members of the council, and will serve ex officio from their organizations. 

The OfS convenes quarterly Sustainability Council Meetings, scheduled on an annual basis. The OfS director serves as the executive secretary of the council and as the presiding officer for all meetings. The executive secretary will distribute a draft meeting agenda two weeks before the scheduled council meeting. Council members can amend and revise the agenda until one week prior to the meeting, when a final agenda will be circulated and posted on the OfS website. Council members will represent their organizations at the council meetings and in appropriate work groups, with each council member participating in at least one work group. Council members will identify an alternate representative to attend council meetings in the event they cannot attend. If a member or their alternate is unable to participate in two council meetings within an academic year the executive committee will advise the provost to replace them.

Membership consists of: academic unit representatives nominated by the appropriate dean; one representative, nominated by the Sustainability Council executive committee, from Faculty Senate, Staff Senate, Office of Business Affairs, Division of University Development, University Housing, Alumni Association, University Relations, University of Arkansas Foundation, Razorback Foundation, Department of Intercollegiate Athletics, and the Transit and Parking Department; and one community representative from UA Service Providers, Technology Development Foundation, and Fayetteville Director of Sustainability, all serving as non-voting ex officio members. The executive committee of the Sustainability Council shall consist of the Associated Student Government president (or designated representative), executive director of the Office for Sustainability, associate vice chancellor for Facilities Management, and executive secretary for the Office of Sustainability.

Marty Matlock
Executive Director
Office of Sustainability
Mike Johnson
Associate Vice Chancellor
Facilities Management
Eric Boles Executive Secretary
Office of Sustainability
Sydney Golding President or designee
Associated Student Government
Vacant Dale Bumpers College of Agriculture, Food and Life Science 2023
Carl Smith Fay Jones School of Architecture 2023
Marlis Douglas J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences 2021
Jon Johnson Sam M. Walton College of Business 2021
Brandon Weston College of Education and Health Professions 2023
Darin Nutter College of Engineering 2023
Vacant Honors College 2023
Don Judges  Global Campus 2021
Vince Capps Graduate School  2021
Sara Gosman  School of Law 2021
Molly Boyd University of Arkansas Libraries 2022
Nathan Kemper Faculty Senate 2023
Stephen Ritterbush Staff Senate 2021
Becky McCoy Office of Business Affairs 2023
Katy Nelson University Development  2021
Jeff Vinger University Housing  2023
Julie Simpson Alumni Association 2021
Kelly Bostick University Relations 2023
Vickie Ferguson University of Arkansas Foundation 2021
Vacant Razorback Foundation 2023
Vacant Department of Intercollegiate Athletics 2023
Andy Gilbride Transit and Parking Department 2021
Kim Johnson (Chartwells) UA Service Providers**  
Vacant Technology Development Foundation**  
Peter Nierengarten Fayetteville Director of Sustainability**  

*=ex officio
**=ex officio non-voting